11/28 – Star Lake part II

The snow and thunderstorms in Star Lake were awesome. The snow used to be above my head and the thunderstorms were so loud. To this day I still love a good thunderstorm. My brother and I went back to see the old house when I was 16 and we had to wade through waste deep snow to get to the house and look in. The new owners apparently were summer only.

I also hung out with a kid across the street named Philip Giardino. I called him Philly His Dad was a teacher at the school and I’m not sure what his Mom did. He also had a little sister Elizabeth. They lived right on the lake and had a cool boathouse in their backyard. One time we were in his backyard playing and he was swinging upside down on his yard swing, he hit his head on a cement yard decoration and cut it open pretty good. What did I do? I started laughing, hysterically. It really wasn’t funny at all and I don’t know why my evil little ass was laughing so hard but again I was told to go home…

It was the 70’s man – Again my school was so small and was K-12 so all of the little kids migrated in the halls with the big kids. One time I was in the hallway looking up at a poster for the George Burns movie “Oh God” and this big kid comes up behind me and lifted me up to see the poster better. It scared the shit out of me and I didn’t know who he was. I told my teacher that some older kid tried to give me dope. Philly asked what color it was. I said it was blue and white and it was in a salt packet – he said – yup that’s dope alright. I don’t know whatever happened but I’m sure the teachers knew I was full of shit unless there really was a blue and white dope back then.

And let’s not forget about Homer Dooby! Seriously there was a kid in my class with that name. Every time I used to talk about him my Mom would always say with a manufactured southern accent HOOOOMER DOOOBY! I’ll have to look him up.

About Alton B. Etheridge III

My Last Years of Childhood is about my musings as I relive my childhood in words before I get too old to remember!
This entry was posted in Childhood, Confessions, Growing Up, Life, Memoir, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment