12/7 – I want to be Bo Duke in Candyland

The Dukes of Hazzard actually goes back to my Star Lake days. Friday nights were The Hulk Imageat 8:00 then Dukes at 9:00. Then my Mom would watch Dallas at 10:00, which meant time for me to fall asleep on the couch if I hadn’t fallen out already. I watched it religiously every Friday night. I wanted to be Bo Duke. Because my middle name is Bowie I think I actually asked to be called Bo for a while. It didn’t stick. Little did I know I was watching a show about a couple of redneck moonshine runners. To this day I still say “Enos you dipstick”. I also used to listen to a Star Wars weekly radio show (remember those?) – hey when you only have three channels you find whatever means of entertainment that you can. I also remember the show Shazam.

Shazam was only on TV on Sundays. I went to a Baptist church when I was that age on Sundays. I wanted to get out of Sunday School one time and told them that I had to leave to go to “some thing”. I remember doing this clear as day probably because it was one of the first times I really lied about something like that and I was doing it to my Sunday School Imageteachers… to go home and watch a TV show… I am so going to hell.  I called my step Father at home and told him he needed to pick me up for “that thing”. He was like what thing? I held the phone down and looked at the teachers and said with my head cocked sideways, “he doesn’t remember but we do have this thing”. Then I got back on the phone and told him again. I believe that the teachers talked to him as well. At that point he agreed and came and got me. He told me “Don’t you ever pull s stunt like that again”. The first of many times I was told not to “pull a stunt”. I felt like such a shitbag after that but oh well, Shazam was the shit!

My Step Fathers family was mostly in upstate New York and we always used to go visit them at his Parent’s cabin in Highmarket during the holidays like Thanksgiving.  Maybe IMG_0008one or two Christmas’s as well but it was Thanksgiving that I remember. His sister had two boys – Timmy and Stevie. Timmy was my age and Stevie was still in diapers when I first met him. I hung out with Timmy most of the time when we were up there. Timmy was a big Duke of Hazzard fan too. We were a couple of little Yankee rednecks (is that a thing? I think that’s a thing.). We had an imaginary girl that we used to both try to court – her name was Lisa (Hey Timmy, I married Lisa!!). Also sometimes my step Father’s other kids would also come. He had two sons and a daughter. His daughter Eden was the closest to my age so we hung out too. We(the kids) would always play Candyland or Go Fish (Crazy 8’s, Old Maid) at the kitchen table with my step Grandmother. I loved Candyland and think each of my kids had it but they didn’t really latch on like we did, maybe because it was one of the only things we had to do so it seemed liked we were having a blast. I just wanted to eat the board.

About Alton B. Etheridge III

My Last Years of Childhood is about my musings as I relive my childhood in words before I get too old to remember!
This entry was posted in Childhood, Confessions, Life, Memoir, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

