12/10 – Tangled in the Tree

So I am going to pause for a moment because I am reading back through what I’ve written so far and I’m mentioning a lot of family that is kind of all over the place so I am going to attempt to make a family tree with me in the center of my family. Of course each branch on this tree has an extension that is probably just as convoluted.

My Mom (Naomi) – Married once before my Dad and had two kids. Marti my sister from another father who is 13 years older than me and Paul my brother from another father who is 10 years older than me. Marti used to watch me all the time when I was a baby which unfortunately I was too young to remember and she started a family at a young age so I really don’t remember living with her too much. Paul was with us right up until he joined the Air Force right out of high school so he was lived with us until I was 7. The funny thing here is that their Dad also remarried and had three more kids so they have brothers and sisters that are not even related to each other (as do I).

My Mom had two siblings –Tom who I never met (yup, that would make him “Uncle Tom” – maybe I’m glad I never met him) – not sure how many kids he has. Then there was Nadine who had one child (Dale). I only met her once and she was married to a different man and not Dales father. My Grandmother was a southern woman that lived in Missouri. I never met my grandfather (Everett Mallory) as he died years before I was born. She remarried Everett Cape who I knew as my grandfather. Now Everett isn’t a really popular name but it must’ve been back then in the South. What are the odds that she married two Everett’s?

My Dad (Alton Jr.) – Engaged once before my Mom and had one child. My sister from another mother Brenda who is 6 years older I think. I met Brenda a few times when I was really young so I don’t remember at all. Brenda lived with her Mom in the Chicago area. We got back in touch about 16 years ago and then off again for a few years and we’ve been back in touch again for the last few years.

My Dad had two siblings – Patricia who was a half sister from my grandfather and Karen who was a couple of years younger than he. Patricia had three kids that I never met and Karen has a son Graham who is my brother. A proud Marine “lifer” with whom I’ll have some stories about later. My grandparents were Alton Sr. and Olga. Alton Sr. was from Savannah Georgia and later Chicago. Olga was a Czech immigrant raised in Michigan.

My Step Father – My Mom married Bruce when I was about 4 I think. He had 3 kids. The oldest was Greg who was 10 years older, Scott who was maybe 5 years older and Eden who was maybe 2 years older. They lived with their Mom in the Rochester area but Greg lived with us on and off for a few years (oh there’s stories there as well). Other than that I saw them about once every few years. Bruce came from NY and had two brothers Ronald and David and a sister Dianne (Mother of Timmy and Stevie) that all lived in upstate NY with their families. These are the families that were a part of my last couple of posts.

My Dad married one other time, briefly to a woman that had four daughters. I went to live with him four a few months when I was in 8th grade that I could (and probably will) write quite a bit about.

I am married to Lisa and we have three children that are now 19, 17 and 11. There will be many more stories about them in the coming months whether they like it or not!

So there you have it – technically I’m an only child.

About Alton B. Etheridge III

My Last Years of Childhood is about my musings as I relive my childhood in words before I get too old to remember!
This entry was posted in Childhood, Confessions, Growing Up, Life, Memoir, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

